Greetings and Salutations, A Period Seniors!

Published on: Author: Ms. Allesandrine 17 Comments

Hello!  This is a test to ensure that each member of our class is successfully able to contribute to our class blog.  Please comment on this post (wrtite your name, a favorite song title, an inspirational proverb…), and then check back here to see whether I received it.  Because I need to personally approve each comment, it may take a little time before you see yours here.  So check back a few times as necessary.  If you don’t see your comment, please send me an email so we can promptly address the problem. 

This is going to be great!  Thank you for your cooperation. 

And while you wait for your comment to appear, here’s a poem to enjoy:

Famous
by Naomi Shihab Nye

The river is famous to the fish.

The loud voice is famous to silence,
which knew it would inherit the earth
before anybody said so.

The cat sleeping on the fence is famous to the birds
watching him from the birdhouse.

The tear is famous, briefly, to the cheek.

The idea you carry close to your bosom
is famous to your bosom.

The boot is famous to the earth,
more famous than the dress shoe,
which is famous only to floors.

The bent photograph is famous to the one who carries it
and not at all famous to the one who is pictured.

I want to be famous to shuffling men
who smile while crossing streets,
sticky children in grocery lines,
famous as the one who smiled back.

I want to be famous in the way a pulley is famous,
or a buttonhole, not because it did anything spectacular,
but because it never forgot what it could do.

 

 

17 Responses to Greetings and Salutations, A Period Seniors! Comments (RSS) Comments (RSS)

  1. ˙spɹɐʍʞɔɐq puɐ uʍop ǝpısdn sı ǝdʎʇ I ƃuıɥʇʎɹǝʌƎ ˙ƃolq ǝɥʇ ɥʇıʍ ƃuoɹʍ sı ƃuıɥʇǝɯos ʞuıɥʇ I

  2. I was able to read the blog and the poem that you posted above! Can’t wait for another year of the Cupcake English blog.
    -Taylor Burger

  3. Hello. If you’re reading this, I’d be grateful if you could remind your classmates to write a comment here. Doing so is not optional and I did ask nicely… THANK YOU to each of you who have already written a comment. It would be wonderful if we heard from twenty more people tonight. ALSO, please remember that you can change your avatar and login name.

  4. One, two princes kneel before you
    That what I said now
    Princes, princes who adore you
    Just go ahead now
    One has diamonds in his pockets
    That’s some bread, now
    This one said he wants to buy you rockets
    Ain’t in his head, now
    Second Verse-

    This one he got a princely racket
    That’s what I said now
    Got some Big Seal upon his jacket
    Ain’t in his head now
    You marry him, your father will condone you
    How ’bout that now
    You marry me, your father will disown you
    He’ll eat his hat, now
    Chorus 1

    Marry him, marry me
    I’m the one that loved you baby can’t you see?
    Ain’t got no future or family tree
    But I know what a prince and lover ought to be
    I know what a prince and lover ought be
    Chorus 2

    Said if you want to call me baby
    Just go ahead now
    And if you like to tell me maybe
    Just go ahead now
    And if you wanted to buy me flowers
    Just go ahead now
    And if you like to talk for hours
    Just go ahead now
    Oh, your majesty!
    Just go ahead now
    Come on forget the King who… marry me!
    Just go ahead now
    Come on, come on, come on
    Just go ahead now
    Go ahead now
    Just go ahead now, etc.

  5. Throwback

    “I am both inspired and impressed by the selfless and compassionate actions that both Odede and Wheatley have taken to better the lives of those less fortunate. Odede’s actions impress me very much. Something he said, which is also something that I think is very important, is what he said about where he comes from. He said, “If you forget where you came from, then you won’t be any good to society.” The idea of not forgetting where you come from is something that I’ve heard all my life and is something very important to my family. The fact that someone like Odede, who comes from such a difficult situation, can think about his family and friends back home is truly eye opening. Many other people would just take what they have and forget about where they came from and the people they love. The same idea of not forgetting where you come from and helping those less fortunate also applies to the situation of Flo Wheatley. Coming from a more fortunate background, she knew that she was lucky. The fact that she now takes time to make the lives of people who aren’t as priviledged as she is is very selfless and generous. These two induviduals truly symbolize what so many more people in the world need to be like, and can inspire those in similar situations to make changes in their own lives as well as in others’”

    -Joey Silvia, Composed December 26, 2010

Leave a Reply